Visit to Utah

In the last few days, I’ve been visiting beautiful Utah! On Friday, I gave a lecture on the excavations at Tell es-Safi/Gath at Brigham Young University (as already mentioned here). The lecture went very well – and before the lecture I had the opportunity to meet with some of the excellent students of Ancient Near Eastern Studies at BYU.

Following the lecture, Jeff Chadwick, my host at BYU, myself and our significant others, drove down to Moab, Utah for a great weekend. Today, we visited the absolutely fascinating and astonishingly beautiful Arches National Park.

Needless to say, when we visited the park, we of course went to visit Double Arch, where the first scene of Indiana Jones and Last Crusade was filmed!

And yes, as I was in Moab, and I had just recently read the Book of Ruth on the Jewish holiday of Shavuot – I was looking all over for Ruth or Naomi – but could not find them in Moab… :-)

 

Aren

2 thoughts on “Visit to Utah

Leave a Reply

