Lecture on PNG at the Kimmel Center

As I had mentioned previously, today I gave a lecture at the Kimmel Center at WIS on archaeological (and personal) perspectives on my recent trip to Papua New Guinea. I had a great time preparing the powerpoint for the lecture – and presenting it, and I brought with me some “show and tell” objects to the lecture (bow and arrows, ceremonial stone axe, machete, and various traditional ornamentations and objects). It was a lot of fun – and I think the people at the Kimmel enjoyed it as well!

Steve Weiner took a picture of me when I demonstrated how the ceremonial feather hat (with Cassowary and Bird of Paradise feathers) was worn (notice the objects on the table in front of me):

photo

Leave a Reply

