Two new articles on feasting have appeared! One on the Philistines – the other on Papua New Guinea.

Today I got the final, published PDFs of two new articles:

1) Hitchcock, L. A., Horwitz, L. K., Boaretto, E., and Maeir, A. M. 2015. One Philistine’s Trash is an Archaeologist’s Treasure: Feasting at Iron Age I, Tell es-Safi/Gath. Near Eastern Archaeology 78(1): 12–25.
In this study, my colleagues and I discuss archaeological remains from late Iron I Tell es-Safi/Gath which we interpret as evidence of feasting activities, and discuss this within the broader framework of Late Bronze and early Iron Age cultures of the eastern Mediterranean.
2) Maeir, A. M. 2015. A Feast in Papua New Guinea. Near Eastern Archaeology 78(1): 26–34.
During a recent trip to Papua New Guinea, I participated in a traditional feast, in the remote village of Teptep. In this article, I note some of my observations on the feast and some possible insights relevant to the archaeology of the ancient near east.
For those interested, the articles can be found on my academia.edu webpage (along with many other publications of mine).
Aren

Leave a Reply

