Link to our new paper in the Sass Fs – discussing the supposed “Canaanite Enclave” in the Iron I Shephelah

As mentioned previously, a new paper by me and Louise just appeared in the Festschrift in honor of Beni Sass (for a PDF, go here).

In this paper, Louise and I discuss, somewhat critically, suggestions that there was a definable “Canaanite enclave” in the Shephelah, during the Iron I, in between the Philistine and Israelite cultural zones.

The full title of the paper is:

Maeir, A. M. and Hitchcock, L. A.. 2016. “And the Canaanite Was Then in the Land”? A Critical View on the “Canaanite Enclave” in Iron I Southern Canaan. Pp. 209–26 in Alphabets, Texts and Artefacts in the Ancient Near East: Studies Presented to Benjamin Sass, eds. I. Finkelstein, C. Robin and T. Romer. Paris: Van Dieren.

Enjoy!

Aren

One thought on “Link to our new paper in the Sass Fs – discussing the supposed “Canaanite Enclave” in the Iron I Shephelah

Leave a Reply

