re: Clarification vis-a-vis article in the Jerusalem Post

Please read below a letter that I sent out to the archaeological community, clarifying a supposed quote of mine about Prof. Israel Finkelstein (of Tel Aviv University), that appeared yesterday in an article in the Jerusalem Post about the founding of the new Institute of Biblical Archaeology at Bar-Ilan University:

"Dear All (and in particular to Israel Finkelstein),

In light the article that appeared yesterday in the Jerusalem Post and the many quite distressed reactions to it, I would like to clarify several issues relating to this article.

The supposed quote in the Jerusalem Post about things I supposedly said about Israel Finkelstein is not only NOT what I said, but in fact, it is CONTRARY to what I said!

During the telephone conversation with the Jerusalem Post reporter, the reporter tried to point out specific figures, and "name names," and I refused to go in that direction at all! I did speak about agendas in archaeology, which exist on ALL sides, and stated that I would like to take a middle road. A large portion of this article was not what I said (or in fact, the very opposite), and/or distorted major parts of what I said.

As I hope most of you already know, I NEVER have been one to make use of "naming" and personal vendettas in my private and/or professional life, am totally against ad hominem attacks, and have (and had) absolutely no intention to do this either now or in the future.

I believe that Israel Finkelstein is one of the leading, and most important scholars in the field of Ancient Near Eastern archaeology. In fact, if at all, he IS one of the few "down-to-earth" archaeologists who has, in recent years, made an ongoing and rigorous effort to deal with the biblical text from (but not only) an archaeological perspective. Although I don't agree with him on many issues, I believe he has done more to push forward the proper study of the Ancient Near east (connecting archaeology, texts, and other perspectives, in an impressively holistic manner) than most scholars in the field. His work has demanded from all of those working in the field (in a serious manner) to rethink, recheck and upgrade the most basic aspects of our research.

As I believe most of you will agree, I have been conducting high-level archaeological work in the past and plan to continue this in the present and future. I believe that I have in the past, and hopefully, in the future as well, been quite successful in disconnecting between archaeological research and political issues. The wide range of political, cultural, religious and/or other agendas that can be seen in the various members of the Tell es-Safi/Gath Archaeological Project is clear evidence of this.

Also, if I may say, I have no intention of being a puppet of the "right wing," especially since I am politically quite against them!

If I may attempt to clarify what I WAS trying to say – I believe that it is high time that archaeologists working in "Biblical Archaeology" (or whatever you want to call it) and cognate fields, once again, unabashedly "dive-in" and make a concentrated effort to deal with the interface between the texts (biblical and other) and the archaeological evidence. This should be done from the perspective of 21st century science and research, not on the basis of old paradigms and outmoded research programs. Despite the long history of misuse of archaeology and biblical interpretation, archaeologists and biblical scholars should not shy away from dealing with this interface (as unfortunately, too may of our colleagues do), but rather deal openly with these touchy and often thorny issues (as, in particular, Israel Finkelstein has repeatedly done). The easy-way-out of not dealing with these issues since they are difficult is simply a cop-out! Similarly, dealing with these issues from a narrow perspective (such as not combining the nitty-gritty details of archaeology, linguistics, biblical studies, etc.) is not acceptable as well – and this is true whether it comes from the "left" or from the "right."

As to being accused of involving political agendas and archaeology. I truly believe that archaeology, if it is to be relevant to contemporary culture, should be a tool in which human society at large learns about its cultural roots. Thus, the results of modern archaeological research should, nay must, be diffused to the public in the cultural contexts in which these very cultures societies exist. Thus, the archaeological evidence from Israel should be used to teach people in Israel, Jews, Muslims, or Christians, about their heritage and culture, whether theirs directly, or of other peoples and cultures in this region (just as Native Americans can and should learn about their heritage, Afghanis about theirs, etc.).

NOT doing this is no solution, even if there are competing views and narratives in this region. It is the archaeologist's duty to present the evidence and scientific interpretations in an objective manner as possible. Just because my historical narrative as an Israeli is at times in disagreement with that of, for example, a Palestinian's, does not mean that responsible historians, archaeologists, and other students of the past should not involve themselves and the public in uncovering Israeli/Jewish cultural heritage. This does not mean that other heritages should be silenced, denied, or obstructed, but rather that they can and should all be sounded, heard, and listened to.

I think it is of extreme importance that all archaeologists speak and interact with the public in terms and narratives that catch the public's interest, since: a) we are the stewards of the public's heritage and if we do not pass on to the public the results of our "craft" we are ethically off-mark; 2) And, without the above, we have no right and/or justification to ask the public and/or private sector for financial support for our endeavours.

I also do believe that the institution at which I work, Bar-Ilan University, has a unique ability to contribute significantly to the above. Other universities can, and do, conduct excellent work, and I had no intention to degrade any of the other respectable institutions in Israel and abroad! Nevertheless, I believe that at Bar-Ilan University we are laying the groundwork for a cutting-edge Institute of Archaeology, in which the broad spectrum of Ancient Near Eastern and biblical studies, combined with interdisciplinary archaeology, will truly push forward the field of Biblical Archaeology in the coming generation. Our commitment is not only to doing the best and most advanced scientific research, but to have a wide program of outreach to the public – to the universities' student body, and beyond.

Nevertheless, and despite all that I wrote above, due to the fact that this was presented as being direct quotes of mine (despite the fact that it was not), I deeply apologize to Israel for any hard feelings, as I hope I have made quite clear, both here, and in the near future, in other public forums (including in a letter to the Jerusalem Post). Mea Culpa!

Bottom line – what I am trying to do is get the public interested in archaeology. Sometimes you have to utilize the press, and when you do that, you don't always get exactly what you want …

All the best,

Aren

P.S. I do appreciate those of my colleagues who suspected that aspects of "journalistic inaccuracy" were behind this issue."

15 thoughts on “re: Clarification vis-a-vis article in the Jerusalem Post

  1. Niels Peter Lemche

    Dear Aren,

    Journalists never get it right. Although once, in a political strife at the university, I gave an interview to a journalist who got it right. The sensation of that time. A friend of mine once said: Whenever I read something about my subject in a newspaper, it is wrong. Therefore I must assume in advance that it is all wrong.

    The Aren of this article is more like the Aren I got to know on the ANE-2 mail list.

    So thank you for the clarification. It was great reading.

    NPL

    Like

  2. Well written reply, all of us having spoken to the media about our profession get ‘burned’ from time to time, many times it is simply due to the fact that they do not understand what we do. Over the years, I have asked journalists for the right to see the piece before it runs, not for stylistic reasons, but to correct these potential errors. The more experienced journalists almost always oblige, knowing full well that there may be some embarrasing errors and in the end it is a win-win situation for us all. Unfortunately, some of the younger, less experienced journalists are those that say no to my request and in the end many errors occur. Those few journalists that get it ‘right’ are those that give us an opportunity to see the article before it runs. All we have to do it to ask, the better ones from my experience, will comply.

    Like

  3. Dr. Jacob L. Wright

    Aren, this was a well written statement, and I was happy to see it published! Best wishes, Jacob

    Like

  4. Peter van der Veen PhD

    Dear Aren,

    As I know you, you are one of the fairest and most knowledgeable academics in the field of Archaeology of the Land of Israel. Many thanks for this fine reply. It only confirms my positive impression of you as a friend and a scholar.

    Like

  5. Achish Melek Gat

    Aren —

    GREAT statement! You are a Buddha (or at least a shining Bodisatva). Honestly, I didn’t read into the Jerusalem Post remarks the troubles that others may have seen in them. But the statement of clarification was a masterful summary of what we ought to be about in the pursuit of “biblical archaeology.” To all who read this, come and dig with us at Gat! In addition to fun, you will find the professionalism that must absolutely be a part of our discipline.

    AMG

    Like

  6. Lee Edgar Tyler

    Thank you for this statement, Aren. I was flabbergasted by the original report and was one of the many who expected it to be exposed as inaccurate. This moderate and well-reasoned reply is a credit to scholarship.

    et

    Like

  7. arenmaeir

    Thank you all for your kind statements.
    As I see it, in the end, all worked out fine. There was a big storm, some “scandal”, everybody was aware of it, I wrote a long explanation of what should have been said, everybody read that as well — so bottom line, the original”message” that I was trying to pass on was heard by a large crowd.

    Aren

    Like

  8. SOLLY DWEK

    EXCELLENT STATEMENT. CAN WE HAVE ISRAEL FINKELSTEIN’S REACTION AND MOST IMPORTANT, HOW DO ALL ENSURE THAT DIALOGUE IS MAINTAINED BETWEEN ALL CONCERNED FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE WORK CARRIED OUT AND OF THE IMMENSE PUBLIC INTEREST THAT EXISTS?

    Like

  9. Yuval Goren

    Well spoken, Aren. Being one of those who were devastated by the quote, I take my words (spread to some including you by email) back. However, I would like to see such a letter also published in the Jerusalem Post. Indeed, some of us follow your blog, fewer even still see the BAS with the reference to your announcement. But the right way to address such damaging misquotes by journalists is by addressing a letter to the editor. Not because of the “offended honor” of this or that scholar but because of the wrong impression that it made in the broad public about the goals and general approach of your newly-established institute.

    Like

  10. Richard Wiskin

    One could in one way try to sympathisize with and “excuse” those journalists who daily, with the clock in the back, are under pressure to submit an article on some subject or other. However as one who has almost always been misquoted in the press, I must say that there is no excuse for those who come to a subject with preconceived ideas and then cleverly pose questions to obtain the”answer” which supports their agenda. Whether this be the case in question I do not know, but such situations exemplify for me the crying need for biblically oriented archaeology to be presented by archaeologists themselves in such a way the general public can understand and relate to. Having worked on site with both you, Aren in Tel es-Safi, and in Megiddo with Israel, I really appreciate both of your contributions in this regard.

    Like

  11. Hi,
    I found your blog via google by accident and have to admit that youve a really interesting blog :-)
    Just saved your feed in my reader, have a nice day :)

    Like

Comments are closed.