Visit to the Tokyo National Museum

Today, I spent the entire morning at the beautiful Tokyo National Museum, hosted by Dr. Takuzo Onozuko, curator the West Asian and Egyptian archaeological materials at the museum.

We first started in the gallery which he curated, with a very nice collection of objects form all over the ancient Near East.

From there we went to the special exhibit of the Golden Hall of the Chuson-Ji Temple, from Northern Japan. This was the final week of this special, and stunning exhibit, and the lines of people waiting to get in were lore than long. Thanks to Takuzo’s “protekzia” – we got in without the line…

From there, I went on my own to see the various galleries of the impressive collections of Japanese art and archaeology in the museum.

Very interesting morning!

And now I’m on my way to stay at a Zen monastery in the mountains northwest of Tokyo. Should be interesting…

Here are some photos from my visit: